The main parameters in Jyotish (vedic astrology) are Rashi (zodiac signs) and Grahas (planets), that lie underneath everything that happens or exists in this world (events, individuals, objects).
Graha (if translated from Sanskrit) means 'the one that controls'. The physical bodies of Grahas in our world are planets. But the physical body of each Graha is only a small fraction of the whole concept of the term 'Graha' as the planets representing Grahas are only terminals or visual forms. First of all, Grahas are also Devatas (Deva is the Sanskrit term for male-deity, Devi - the Sanskrit term for 'female-deity). Devas are the sources of energies that structure everything in our world. With the right use of knowledge about those or other influences that Grahas have, the one can create a Kundali (horoscope) at any object and get a specific picture and knowledge about it.
Grahas are the main forces in our world, and the signs of the Zodiac are specific zones in space and time (which can be called as 'slices of our consciousness') that Grahas influence. In other words, Rashi are certain spheres of our life. For example, the 4th Rashi (or Bhava) is responsible for family life and the disposition of Grahas in it will greatly affect a person's family life. Hence, it can be concluded that almost everything in a person's life depends on Grahas. Grahas are Devatas, who keep the whole Karma of people. On one hand any Graha can raise negative / positive Karma and on the other hand - let it off. Also according to Graha's position and Upayas (actions that are related to Graha)done by a particular person, Grahas can either intensify or skip certain Samskaras (term 'samskaras' can be translated from sanskrit as 'seeds of Karma').
  1. The Navagraha, planetary deities, are considered subordinate to Ishvara (the Hindu concept of a supreme being) in the administration of justice. Thus, it is believed that these planets can influence earthly life. Astrology as a (pseudo)science See also: Astrology and science.
  2. January 15, 2018 Ravi Thakur Vedic Astrology Leave a comment Pacifying the grievous effects of Navagraha or nine planets and gaining their blessings are done through mantras mentioned in astrology. From these spells, one can achieve his objectives and life purpose. At the same time, he can get rid of all obstacles by chanting these mantras.
In this section you will find information on 9 Grahas: Surya (Sun), Chandra (the Moon), Mangala (Mars), Buddha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Northern Node) and Ketu (Southern Node).

Forming Aspects In Eastern Charts

Aspects in Eastern charts are different than the aspects generally used in Western astrology. For one thing in Vedic astrology both signs and planets make aspects. Planetary aspects are called graha drishti and sign aspects are called rasi drishti.

In the Vedic Astrology, it is believed that the events in our lives are governed by the nine celestial bodies, which are also called as Navagrahas. The placement and strength of these planets in a natal chart affects us in different ways, either for good or for bad.

Let’s deal first with planetary aspects or Graha drishti. Graha means ‘the power to grab’ hence, the planets have the power to grab us and influence our lives. Throughout this article the western names of the planets will be used, however the Sanskrit transliteration for each planet will be in brackets.

Although it is not initially necessary for a student to learn the Sanskrit names of the planets or anything else, doing so is wise.

Planetary Aspects (Graha drishti)

Planetary aspects (graha drishti) show the existence of a desire. The rules around these aspects are: every planet aspects the house it is in and the house directly opposite it. Three planets have special aspects and these planets are Mars (Kuja), Jupiter (Guru), Saturn (Sani), North Node (Rahu) and South Node (Ketu). As the special aspects are described remember that the house the planet is sitting in is always counted as the 1st house.

Navagraha positions

Mars (Kuja) has the general aspects plus it aspects the 4th house from it and the 8th house from it. So it can be said that Mars (Kuja) aspects 4 places: the house it is in, the 4th from it, the 7th and 8th from it also.

Scorpio horoscope tomorrow lucky colour

Jupiter (Guru) has the general aspects plus it aspects the 5th and 9th houses from it. Therefore Jupiter (Guru) too aspects 4 places, the house it is in, the 5th from it, the 7th and 9th from it also.

Saturn (Sani) has the general aspects plus it aspects the 3rd and 10th from it as well.

North Node (Rahu) makes the same aspects as Saturn (Sani) and the South Node (Ketu) makes the same aspects as Mars (Kuja).


Sign Aspects (Rasi Drishti)

This unique type of aspecting has been well represented with the authoritative writings on which Jyotish is based. The sign aspects (rasi drishti) show knowledge. The rules for sign aspects (rasi drishti) are as follows:

Cardinal signs aspect fixed signs, except the fixed sign next to it.


Aries aspects Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius

Cancer aspects Scorpio, Aquarius and Taurus

Libra aspects Aquarius, Taurus and Leo

Capricorn aspects Taurus, Leo and Scorpio

Fixed signs aspect the cardinal signs except the cardinal sign next to it.

Taurus aspects Capricorn, Libra, and Cancer

Leo aspects Aries, Capricorn and Libra

Scorpio aspects Cancer, Aries and Capricorn

Aquarius aspects Libra, Cancer and Aries

Mutable signs aspect the other mutable signs.

Gemini aspects Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces

Virgo aspects Gemini, Pisces and Sagittarius

Sagittarius aspects Pisces, Gemini and Virgo

Pisces aspect Sagittarius, Virgo and Gemini

What Does Navagraha Mean

When looking at sign aspects (rasi drishti) any planets in the signs naturally are included in the aspects.

For more information contact me at [email protected]

Navrgaha Vedic Astrology
Coments are closed
Scroll to top